Exploring Digital Literacies

1. Digital Confidence Profile:
My Digital Profile
My Digital Confidence Profile is a reflection of myself. I am proud that my strengths in digital literacies are in finding and using information, as well as, being able to be safe while using the internet and protecting my data on social media platforms.
The areas of improvement where I am interested in developing throughout this course are in creating and innovating, as well as, communicating and collaborating.

2.  Digital Literacies for Online Learning:

a. Wikipedia definition of Digital Literacies: The definition on Wikipedia is not simple and clear, however, I appreciated that they stated the definition of Digital Literacies by Paul Gilster.

b. #diglit on Twitter: I really liked this post by “Lara Lang”, she posted a photo of the basic terms of the internet to Year 4 students.

c. Definitions of Digital Literacies.
The definition on the Library of the University of Illinois.
The definition on Education Week.

d. Definition of Digital Skills:
The definition of digital skills on Rewired for Technology.

e. Definition of Digital Fluency:
The definition of digital fluency on Core Blog.

f. Differences and relations between digital literacy, fluency, and skills:
In my point of view, a person that is digitally literate will be able to do any digital task, however, a digitally fluent person will be able to do any digital task, as well as, achieving an outcome that meets their initial intention (Source). On the other hand, digital skills are simply the tools to be able to do any of the above.

g. POMO Article: The POMO Article doesn’t seem as a reliable source, because of the way it is written and we don’t know who the author is and their background in the field.

h. Rating of the Academic quality of the definitions found: Average!

+ What did you discover?
I didn’t realize the importance of digital literacies, skills, and fluency in our digitalized world. I may have taken for granted the fact that I am comfortable in these three fields.
For me, digital literacy simply means to be able to use the internet and digital platforms to achieve tasks online.

1) The most important elements of digital literacies, given the Egyptian context, are constructive, communicative, and civic. As Egypt is a developing country the digital world brings a lot of resources to young Egyptians as a way to communicate, learn to be civic, as well as, building information that is not taught nor in school nor in Egyptian society.
2) I annotated a critique I had about one of the elements of digital literacies. I believe that the last element, which is confidence must also take into consideration the importance of mutual respect in digital literacies. It is not because we are behind a screen that we become disrespectful.

3. Stations:

+ Online Security: I was shocked that a number of Web Attacks in 2015 were 1 million on a daily basis. I also liked the part where they teach you to better manage your passwords and how to protect yourself from a malware. Also, I did not know that there were terms as malware and phishing.

+ Podcasts: I thought that podcasts were only used for music. A couple of years ago, I used to listen to 1 hour long podcasts of house music. I didn’t know that podcasts were for education (the example of podcasts from the University of Oxford). I also learned about the different platforms of podcasts.

Leave a Reply

